Ruminate

Every once in a while you surface

You have been gone now just under 15 years

But a look from my daughters or a word or giggle brings you back for a few moments

And the girls ask me “papa you okay”

Yes girls, grandma just visited again

Some days I wish you could have held them for a moment

Other days I’m glad they never witnessed your deterioration

When my stepmother tries to cross a boundary in order for her to have a normal family my anger rises, but I remind her my girls have a grandma who  is always there we have a normal family and she has no part in it

Thank you for the good moments and good riddance to the pain you sometimes caused

Leave a Reply

