Survive

80 mph, back wheel lifts up

I’m flying faster than the bike

I’m landing on my hands

These hands that make magic on a keyboard

Make music on a tuba or bass guitar

Make women moan like never before

I land and roll to a stop on the ashpalt

My leathers are scratched, my jeans torn, helmet still on scraped and cracked

I’m alive, in pain, but alive
A year later I’m in the horn of Africa

Dodging ak fire from starving tribes

Cursing out my commander since we aren’t authorized side arms

Dodging the locals who cough up their TB and malaria

Trying not to be the next international incident
It’s late, 4 lane highway 3 hours of overtime just completed

I’ve decided to break it off with my girlfriend and kick her out

I’m too close behind the car in front as it swerves hard into the left lane

T-boned into a truck that a few minutes before crashed into another car

Off duty cop, drunk, his buddies show up and threaten me

I ask for a breathilizer for both, they decline as the paramedics arrive

I’m asked 30 times if I’m alright and I just want a smoke so they let me

As I stand there in the dark lights flashing someone puts a hand on my back and that’s when I collapsed

I’m in the ambulance I’m at the ER

My girl shows up in tears and I forgot to kick her out for 2 years
It’s labor day weeken

I’m moving from Chicago to Virginia

I’m driving solo 15 hours each way

I’m on my 3rd trip

I’ve thrown out my back and I 2 weeks I’m to be wed
I have succeeded to the chagrin of those​ family members who molested me

Leave a Reply

