WOTD trace

Trace

My fingers roll over the words printed in ink so many years ago

Never in cursive since I’ve always failed at penmanship, should have been a doctor

These days my thumb grows callosed since now we type with one finger

I prefer the roughness of paper and pencil

When I read aloud, my fingers follow the words like they did when I first learned to read, now I trace the words for my daughters, but really it’s the only way I can focus

I want to gently tug at the letters untill they are free from the page and see what pictures they would make if allowed to flow freely

I’m still puzzled at how we decided these shapes of lines and portions of circles define our very existence, we put the value of life and death in them, would we be better off being illiterate

Leave a Reply

